My Thoughts on Technology in the Classroom

29 Nov

Technology has become increasingly necessary in classrooms. Each semester for the past year, I have been placed in a new classroom all over Southern New Jersey. These classrooms have been in schools in Camden, Cherry Hill, and Blackwood. All of these schools are in very different schools systems, yet each classroom I was a part of heavily used technology in the classroom.

In my opinion, I feel as if technology is not something that SHOULD be used in the classroom, but rather something that MUST be used in the classroom. Because of the way humans’ brains have evolved, technology has become an absolute necessity.   

At first, I thought it would be difficult to get students to use technology in an organized matter, especially the younger grades. But, it is all really interactive and they seem to enjoy everything better when presented in a technological way.

Students also seem to understand the material much more. It introduces a new way of thinking, which is definitely a higher way of thinking.  This is something that I learn in my Education classes as being extremely important. 

This also allows for the teacher to be more of the facilitator and allow the students to investigate material on their own, rather than just have the teacher stand up there and talk the entire time. 

In the classroom I observed this semester, students used all types of technology, including a document camera, SmartBoard, iPads, Computers, and many more. Each time I am in a different classroom, I find new and different ways to use these technologies in the classrooms with different students and I really love it. 

Technology allows to make everything more personal and to allow for the different levels and needs of the students. It is hard to personalize activities for 20 or more students, but it becomes a lot easier through the use of technology.

As a future teacher, I need to become more aware. There was a time when a student asked me a question about the iPad, and I had no idea, but another student who was more familiar with the technology came over and helped. This shows that the students know perhaps more than I think they know. As well this allows for more collaboration and cooperation amongst students.

Technology in the classroom is something that I will consistently have to update my knowledge but I guess that is something that goes along with being a part of the educational field nowadays. 

2 Responses to “My Thoughts on Technology in the Classroom”

  1. kamipreto December 1, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    I couldn’t agree more with this article, because I am also going into the field of Education and feel that the use of technology in the classroom enhances a student’s learning greatly. I have also observed in multiple different classrooms, and I am a substitute teacher as well. All of the classrooms I have been in have had a Smart Board, and I do understand the general concept of them, but while I was subbing a few weeks back, one of my students asked if I could bring a game up on the Smart Board, and I had absolutely no idea what I was doing and wasn’t able to set it up. But, yes, technology is definitely needed in classrooms today, I completely agree. (I just need to get up on my technology).

    • ashleighmarie03 December 20, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      I agree with this wholeheartedly. Before I switched from education and writing arts to journalism and writing arts, I was in TLC I and II in Camden then Cherry Hill. I would observe the classrooms and the main thing that I noticed was the technology being used. In Camden, each classroom had multiple computers, a projector, and a Smart Board. The classroom in Cherry Hill only had two computers (one of which was the teacher’s personal laptop) and a projector. The class in Camden only used the computers as a reward for when students finished their assignments. In Cherry Hill, technology was used as much as possible and the teacher wished she was able to use more. I feel that if the students in Camden were taught using the technology that was accessible to them in the classroom, they might have understood the assignments a bit better.

Leave a Reply

