Connections Around the World

4 Dec

I think what stood out the most to me from the anthropologist video is that people are interconnected on YouTube, but not just in a superficial way. A music video from New Jersey can be remixed with a dancing cat somewhere in Australia, and those people share that in common. And while I agree with Michael Wesch that some of these videos cannot be considered mass media, they do share the connection of sharing YouTube as an upload forum.

I also was surprised with the amount of people that really cared about the fact that this “lonelygirl” was not a real character, which led to an immediate online riot. Many frequent video posters reacted badly at the revealed persona of this girl, and this led to many people disguising their online personas as well, or in fact, revealing their true selves. My roommate and I had a small discussion about this during the video and I thought it was definitely similar enough to point out. I think we’ve all done a little Facebook stalking on our downtime, maybe scoping out someone’s weekend or a cute boy/girl. If i see that you have all these cute pictures up and in person you look NOTHING like that, I’m annoyed. But the Internet doesn’t really have any preventative measures against this, and how could they? I do think YouTube kind of creates an “everyone’s an actor” vibe, because who’s to say what you’re posting is fake?

Lastly, I was interested to hear the Michael Wesch admitted that most of what we do is illegal- any video that we remix, any song t

hat we download without paying for is, is illegal. We do live life knowing it’s illegal, and honestly, that doesn’t even slow me down in the process. But even by shoving laws and fines down our throats, we cannot “kill” the Internet as Lawrence states, we can only use it underground.

3 Responses to “Connections Around the World”

  1. cascia35 December 4, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    I completely agree that “everyone is an actor” on the internet. Someone can be a completely different person on the internet than they are in real life. I know a girl from high school who was outgoing, flirtatious, and had a million boyfriends… on the internet. She never saw these boys in person or even spoke to me when she saw me outside of the internet. But she would be the first to comment on a picture complimenting me. The internet acts as a mask for some people. But you’re right, who is actually going to call her out on being two different people? And in reality, who cares?

  2. caittwills December 4, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    This is so true! Everyone is an actor. The movie Catfish, is creepy as hell and it’s an exact example of what goes on in the “real” world vs. the “internet” world. This is so strange. This is why online forums and things of that nature are just creepy to me. I don’t like having friends on Facebook that i actually haven’t met. The idea that you could be talking to someone who is half way across the world when you think that they are right in your backyard….this is so strange.

  3. feltm85 December 5, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I also couldn’t believe how many people were affected by “lonelygirl”. People had such strong reactions to her being not being “real”. I didn’t realize how important youtube is to the world. There are die-hard youtube fan of what seems to be a video celebrity. I like how you compared this to people who look different on facebook then in real life. I can completely relate.

Leave a Reply

