Organizationally Disorganized

9 Dec

Making a mental map of my future classroom, I wonder about things like organizational structure and classroom management. I am kind of a stickler about organization- I know where I want things, I know where to find them and this helps me know what materials I need. In my classroom at Blackwood, I have to say I was a little shocked, there was stuff everywhere! And while my teacher seemed to know where everything was, having papers in constant disarray definitely slowed her down. Being a second grade teacher also wasn’t in her favor- leaving the class unattended for more then a couple minutes to find the next activity caused chaos! I just know I wouldn’t be able to run my classroom in that way.

I also noticed that she had a massive amount of supplies spread out around the room, mostly because she forgot she had them and bought some more. No one needs that many glue sticks! But she had also run out of many necessary materials, like writing paper with larger margins, and pencils. My cooperating teacher just seemed to be all over the place, and it just gave off a messy, disorganized vibe. I get that she still knows where some things are in the classroom, it’s not how I envisioned the “perfect” classroom.

I think this side of teaching also spills over into classroom management- I can’t expect to have control over the classroom if I’m running all over the place looking for materials and lesson plans. There are some great sites and other blogs that provide insight to keeping the classroom clutter-free, and choosing materials that have multiple uses in the classroom. Hopefully in my future classroom, I do not feel overwhelmed when deciding how to set up my room, because it does seem like a crucial step for new teachers!

3 Responses to “Organizationally Disorganized”

  1. coonsb30 December 9, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    I agree, organization is key! Having an organized classroom makes teaching easier for the teacher and learning easier for the students. I have been lucky enough to have many experiences in different preschool classroom. I feel like preschool classroom seem to look a lot less organized compared to other classrooms. This is probably due to the amount of toys, activities, and centers that are spread throughout the room. I have picked up on some organizational tips that I like as well as some that I will not use in my future classroom. Providing a healthy, safe, and welcoming classroom can make a huge impact on a child’s learning and development.

  2. pff6192 December 10, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    Organization is super important, especially for first year teachers! You are so right when you say that you can’t be running around the classroom wasting time looking for materials that you need for the lesson, or even looking for a paper that you lost. You must have your organization set and have a set place where you keep things, thats the main way students will take you seriously, and the main way you will get through everything that you want to complete!

  3. elizabethspengler December 20, 2012 at 3:55 am #

    I absolutely agree with you! Organization is one of the key factors that is helpful for teachers. Whether its from lesson to lesson, day by day or even year by year, organization will not only make you a more efficient teacher, but it will also teach your children all of those positive skills as well.

Leave a Reply

