How addicted are YOU?

11 Dec

I think I have withdrawals- not using Facebook for a week has driven me crazy. I thought I would be able to control myself, whereas I didn’t think I would actually have to delete the shortcut off my computer and the app from my phone. WRONG. I woke up on that Wednesday morning, checked my email and clicked on the Facebook icon! After catching myself, I immediately deleted it to avoid further mishaps.

Am I crazy? Surely I should not feel this strongly about a social network. But I found myself wondering whose birthday it was, how everyone’s weekend went and what others had to say about my weekend pictures. Which made me wonder if I like Facebook because 500 of my closest friends can talk to me, or because I can see what everyone and their mother is doing. And that made me feel just plain creepy.

I know we were supposed to tweet each time we were tempted to go on Facebook, but I think I avoided my phone a lot more this week just because I really had nothing to do on it. After reading a couple articles on Facebook with relation to psychology, I found there was more than one mental test out there to see how strong your addiction to Facebook really is! Some people (…and myself) need to go on every day, maybe just to check their notifications, which I will admit make me happy when I have them. I guess part of it is the validation of “Yes, I did have a great time this weekend with my beautiful friends and if you like it, then you agree!”. I also wondered if people would think I was rude by not responding, even though I posted a status about being away for a week. Is that what’s blanketed under manners now, Facebook etiquette?

But I do know something for sure- Tuesday at 6 PM, this girl is re-downloading the Facebook app and immersing herself back in the Facebook world.

One Response to “How addicted are YOU?”

  1. cascia35 December 13, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    I feel the same exact way. I was having withdrawals from not using a simple social media site! I think that today’s society is so obsessed with what everyone else is doing. Even TV shows are all about peoples lives (Keeping up with the Kardashians. Everyone needs to know whats going on around them to stay.. well.. sane. I’m glad we all survived the Facebook challenge, but I highly doubt any of us will do it again.

Leave a Reply

